A corset of course

One of the projects that I wanted to attempt this summer was a corset. I’m not really a girly-girl, but I just kind of like the idea. Unfortunately, my first attempt didn’t end up well enough that I feel skilled enough to offer instruction to others, but I thought I would pass along where I got my ideas from and a few tips on what NOT to do.

First, here is my inspiration. I didn’t want to try and create something with boning on my first try, and this seemed to accomplish that very nicely.

It’s a pretty straightforward tutorial, but I had a little trouble getting the shape right. I started off by sewing a tube, pinning it to my body, and having my little sister break the seam with a seam ripper. That worked pretty well, until I tried to modify it later because I thought it didn’t fit very well as I was holding it up to me. I forgot that there would be tight lacing helping the fabric to keep its shape, and decided to take some “extra” fabric off the front. It still fits well enough, but there is now a much wider gap at the top of the back than at the bottom.

If I were to do it again, I would try to make the corset using this type of method. It seems to waste much less fabric, and doesn’t rely on guesswork.

This is a tutorial from Threadheads that shows another idea of how to put things together once you have a pattern (which you can make on your own, or try something like this).

Basically, the best advice I can offer is to try something, and if it doesn’t work, try something else.

Here are some samples of my efforts:

Here is the front of the corset

And the back. See what happened to the lacing? :/

Also, some nifty tools I found that made the project easier!

D-ring lacing tape (awesome) from this person on Ebay. And eye and hook tape from this person.

Leave a Reply

